CADS National Award



Each year CADS recognizes those members and volunteers who have contributed in many and varied ways in the promotion and development of Adaptive Snowsports in Canada.

Awards will be presented at the annual Ski & Snowboard Festival in Sun Peaks, BC

2018/2019 recipients

  • Administrator of the Year – Team BCAS : Fannie Smith & Corinne Risler

  • Volunteer of the Year – Robert Timlin, Ontario

  • Volunteer of the Year – Gail Williamson, BC

  • Volunteer of the Year – Philip McNeely

  • Adaptive skier or snowboarder of the Year – Kate Gibbs, BC

  • Instructor of the Year – Lloyd Gagnon, NB

  • Coach of the year – Mark Newton, AB

  • Ski Area of the year – Calabogie Peaks, NCD

  • Sponsor of the year – Francis Lepine, The Lepine Group, NCD

  • President’s Award – Jamie Spencer, Ontario

  • Karl Hilzinger Award – Gwen Binsfeld, Ontario

  • Bob Gilmour Inspirational Leader Award – Debra Blimkie, NCD

2019/2020 recipients

  • Administrator of the Year – Pat McKimmon, Adaptive Sports at Sun Peaks, BCAS

  • Volunteer of the Year – Rob Vat

  • Adaptive skier or snowboarder of the Year – Rebecca Mideros, Ontario Para Alpine Team

  • Instructor of the Year – Sterling McMillan, CADS Calgary, CADS Alberta

  • Coach of the year – Gwen Binsfeld, Ontario Para Alpine Team, CADS Ontario

  • Ski Area of the year – Mount Washington Alpine Resort, BC 

  • Sponsor of the year – Jan Sekerak, Nakiska Ski Area, CADS Alberta

  • President’s Award – Silver Star Adaptive Snow Sports, BCAS

  • Karl Hilzinger Award – Gord Mackenzie, CADS Alberta

  • Bob Gilmour Inspirational Leader Award – Sarah Morris-Probert, Powderhounds Adaptive Snowsports, BCAS

2017/2018 recipients

  • Administrator of the Year - Fred Cuplinkas, QC Owl's Head

  • Volunteer of the Year - Dick Taylor, BC

  • Adaptive skier or snowboarder of the Year - Liane Carmel (two nominations), NCD Edelweiss

  • Instructor of the Year - Bob Hodgson, BC

  • Coach of the year - Diane Rodd, Qc

  • Ski Area of the year - Owls Head, Qc

  • Division Sponsor of the year - Slider Transport, SK

  • President’s Award - Bernie Simpson, NCD

  • Karl Hilzinger Award - Andy Mather, BC

  • Bob Gilmour Inspirational Leader Award - Carolyn Mitrow, NCD



2016/2017 recipients

  • Administrator of the Year - Kees van Frankenhusen, No Limits / ON

  • Volunteer of the Year - Gwen Binsfeld, Opart / ON

  • Adaptive skier or snowboarder of the Year - Cory Duhaime, Special O / BCAS

  • Instructor of the Year - Martin Bourgon, Edelweiss / NCD

  • Coach of the year - Gord Poulton, SK

  • Ski Area of the year - Boler Mountain, ON

  • Division Sponsor of the year - Sasktel,       SK

  • President’s Award - Susan Hughes, BCAS

  • Karl Hilzinger Award - Jamie SPENCER, HorseShoe V. / ON

  • Bob Gilmour Inspirational Leader Award - Jeff BOUCHER, Edelweiss / NCD



2015/2016 recipients

  • Grace Brullote - Administrator of the Year 

  • VINCE ZURBRIGGEN (PASS) - Volunteer of the Year

  • Vistoria Tai - Adaptive Skier/Snowboarder of the Year

  • James Eger - Instructor of the Year

  • Murray Bedel - Karl Hilzinger Award

  • Tommy Chevrette - Bob Gilmour Inspirational Leader Award

  • Debbie Uniac - President’s Award

  • Joanne Clifford, Mount Pakenham Ski Resort, On - Ski Area of the year

  • RCR Kimberley resort & Trickle Creek Lodge - Sponsor of the year



2014/2015 recipients

  • Administrator of the Year - Raymond Blimkie, Calabogie - NCD

  • Skier/Snowboarder of the Year - Jacob-Emmanuel Doyle, Edelweiss – NCD

  •  Instructor of the Year
 - Amy Stratton, Vancouver Adaptive Snow Sports, BC

  • Volunteer of the Year - Julien Laveau, ADDS, Mansfield - ON

  • Karl Hilzinger Award - Bernie Simpson, Ski Hawks – NCD

  • President’s Award - Gord MacKenzie, CADS AB

  • Ski Area of the year - Craigleith, ON  

  • Division Sponsor of the year - Sun PeaksGrand Hotel and Conference Centre, BC

  • Sponsor of the year
 - Resorts of the Canadian Rockies & Kimberley Alpine Resort, BC



2013/2014 recipients

  • Karl Hilzinger Award- Bruce Lebans BC Adaptive and Whistler Adaptive Sports Program

  • President's Award - Technical Committee Members Tommy Chevrette, Jamie McCulloch, Bruce Meredith, Jim Anderson

  • Volunteer of the Year - Michael Maher Sir Sam's Ski Resort, Haliburton, Ontario

  • Instructor of the Year - Annette Cousens CADS NCD Mount Pakenham Adaptive Ski Program

  • Administrator of the Year - Elizabeth Cote Adaptive Sports Foundation, Owl's Head Quebec

  • Skier/Snowboarder of the Year - Alex Cairns BCAS-BC Para Alpine Ski Team

  • Ski Resort of the Year - Ski Martock, Nova Scotia

  • Sponsor of the Year - Kamloops Blazers Sport Legacy Foundation



2012/2013 recipients

  • Karl Hilzinger Award- Clay Dawdy Calabogie Adaptive Ski Program, NCD

  • President'™s Award- Karen Elliott CADS, Durham, Brimacombe, Ontario

  • Volunteer of the Year- Maureen Woodrow Ski Mattock, CADS,  Nova Scotia

  • Instructor of the Year- Gerry Tremblay Adaptive Sports at Sun Peaks, DSABC

  • Administrator of the Year- Carolyn Mitrow Ski Hawks Ottawa, NCD

  • Skier/Snowboarder of the Year- Ben Thompson DSABC

  • Ski Resort of the Year- Calabogie Peaks Resort NCD

  • Sponsor of the Year - Sun Peaks Resort Corporation and Tourism Sun Peaks



2011/2012 recipients

  • Skier / Boarder of the Year NONE

  • Volunteer of the Year Colin Sanders & FamilyCads Durham Cads Ontario

  • Instructor's of the Year DEVON GRIFFITHS & TOM WHEATLEYCADS Calgary CADS Alberta

  • Administrator of the Year Laura Lee Crook CadsCalgary Cads Alberta

  • Karl Hilzinger Award Rick McCollCads Durham Cads Ontario

  • Sponsor of the Year Harbers FamilyWhistler BC Cads British Columbia

  • Presidents Award Doug McDougallOwl's Head PQ. Cads Quebec

  • Ski Area of the Year NONE

  • Coach of the Year NONE


2010/2011 recipients

  • Skier / Boarder of the Year Tess Beasant CADS AB

  • Volunteer of the Year Bliss Family CADS ON

  • Instructor of the Year John Hoarvath CADS PQ

  • Administrator of the Year Pat ProkopchukSASK

  • Karl Hilzinger Award Tom AbemethyCads NCD

  • Sponsor of the Year Sun Peaks ResortDSABC

  • Ski Area of the YearCADS Calgary

  • Coach of the Year Jason Fink

  • President's Award - NONE



2009/2010 recipients

  • Skier / Boarder of the YearVANESSA KNIGHT CADS Quebec Race Team / CADS QC

  • Volunteer of the YearMIKE FAIRHART CADS Durham / CADS Ontario

  • Instructor of the YearJEAN-PAUL (JP) DEVEAU Ski Wentworth / CADS NS

  • Administrator of the Year- PETER TREACY Eastern Townships Disabled Skiers Foundation / CADS Quebec

  • Ski Area of the YearOWL'S HEAD DEVELOPMENT - Eastern Townships Disabled Skiers FoundationCADS Quebec

  • Sponsor of the YearTHE BISHOP FAMILY - SIR SAM'™S SKI AREA CADS Haliburton - CADS Ontario

  • Karl Hilzinger AwardTED RHODES CADS Calgary CADS Alberta

  • Presidents AwardBOB GILMOUR Calabogie Adaptive CADS NCD



2008/2009 recipients

  • Karl Hilzinger Award Bob Gilmour, Calabogie (CADS DCN)

  • President'™s Award Ted Rhodes,Clagary (CADS AB)

  • Administrator of the Year Peter Treacy, Eastern Townships Disabled Skiers Foundation (CADS QC)

  • Volunteer of the Year Mick Fairhart, CADS Durham(CADS ON)

  • Instructor of the Year Jean-Paul Deveau, (CADS NS)

  • Skier/Boarder Of The Year Vanessa Knight, (CADS QC)

  • Sponsor of the Year The Bishop Family, Sir Sams Ski Area (CADS ON)

  • Ski Area of the Year Owl's Head Development (CADS QC)

Mailing Address

32 Ancolies

SADL, Quebec J0R 1B0


Get our news and updates

  • Instagram Social Icon
Screen Shot 2018-10-18 at 6.07.03 PM.png

©2023 by Madagascar. Proudly created with